The only problem that the upgrade can create (in theory) is that you lose your current database settings and instead of connecting to MySQL, for example, you will be connected to the default Derby database. In this case you just need to restore your proper database settings and restart.
An upgrade will NEVER EVER change your database or BSV structure.