Yes, it does. You do not need to do a "Test" and cancel it. A good practice is to regularly "update and keep locked" your changes as well as export the version into a BSV file.
You ARE prompted to save the business space if you made changes.
Re-connect does re-connect (this has been tested many times). Let us know why it doesn't re-connect for you.