as much as I would like to have the time to spend QA-ing this issue, it takes me several months to wrack up enough versions to feel the need to delete them.
Even if I just start creating verison for this - my instance is a production server so once I have fixed it I really (REALLY REALLY REALL), do not want to try to make it happen again. Especially since the back I took last night before running deletes seems to have some type of corruption so no I have fix this manually.
Further, I would like to do what Tom and Pete are doing which would allow me to do some testing, but I have just one License and buying a new one to work around a bug and/or help QA is not going to happen in the short-term.
Here is what I have for Detail.
this ALWAY happens following a delete of obsolete versions
this seems to effect all 'newly' modified reports, presentations, as well as every single User Defined Icon. I can not fully dewfine what 'newly' means, but I think it's worked since the deleted version. I can say I have never lost a report I did not work on for several versions.
the icon paths are still stored, if I go to the config tool - but they are not shown in the preview.
Testing seems to have something to do with it. I have twice left a BSV in test mode for 2-3 weeks, so it might happen following a long period of a BSV being left in test. Or it might be that I am doing the deletes which the version is in Test Mode. This is just a hunch, so might be a red herring.
Pasting in reports from good version fixes the report issue. Presentations can be imported. Pasting in VP's or menus from a good version has no effect.
That's all I can provide.
As a temp solution, It would be REALLY nice to have a function to re-obtain icons, which would go through the system and IF the icon is still located on the same path it will get reimported.