ColinP
Colin,
Anytime new builds came out, I basically did a fresh install.
It’s not gonna hurt anything.
But let me explain.
There would be a directory named AwareIM
Over a weekend or late at night, I would shut Aware down, then rename that main folder by adding a suffix like “_Nov23”
Now everything is protected from being overwritten in that renamed directory.
Then I would do a fresh install into the default location.
Then I would open up two windows explorer windows, and go through the old directory structure and copy over files into the new install.
These are the configuration .props files, plus I would always have CSS and JavaScript things, images, Custom files, etc.
Once copied over, you can go on and start up Aware from the icon on the desktop to start the control panel.
This starts the latest version or the latest build that was just installed. You want to look at your start up window in the control panel and you’ll see if maybe you missed something. Maybe the server props file isn’t connecting to the database. Or something else, but it will be shown in the start up window.
If the server starts up, you’re good to go.
And then run your app.
Usually, I would see graphic issues because maybe I missed a CSS file or something.
But the BSV/application is coming out of the database so it has no bearing on the new install.
I’m just explaining this so you can see there’s no real magic or voodoo happening behind the scenes. It’s not like the old days of windows where files and libraries were getting copied into multiple locations in your window system folders.
Here everything is contained under the main aware install directory, which will now have Either the latest build or your original version.