1 - If I mark an item as checked out and then create a new version do some work and then check the item back in, can I then re-use that version for another item that I check out?
aware_support wrote1. Not sure I completely understand this, but you can always copy any element from the version "under development" and paste it into another version (provided that this version can be modified)
In the video it shows a developer user checking out an item by creating a new minor version of the BSV. If the developer checks in the item from the minor version that they have been working on, does that minor version of the BSV then become out of date or superseded or can that minor version be used to check out further elements? What is the recommended practice? If I hypothetically have 5 developers working on a model that is "In Development" do they all create a new minor version and check items in and out of these until such time as the "In Development" version gets promoted to "Published"? Or should they be creating new minor version every time they check an element out? If they are creating a new minor version every time they check out an element what is the best way to manage these increasing number of minor versions as they were not able to be deleted previously unless they were marked obsolete?
2 - If I test the development version and what happens with that version that sits in test mode? Can it be deleted, or can I reuse it for subsequent testing?
aware_support wrote2. I don't understand the question. There is no difference in the behaviour of the version under test.
The video shows the "In Development" model being tested by the creation of another minor version of the BSV. What happens to this new minor version of the BSV? If I test the "In Development" version then take it out of test make a change to the BSV (perhaps to fix a bug found in testing) and then put it back into test does this re-use that minor version that was created for testing, or does it create another minor version (effectively treating the prior test as a failed build candidate)?
3 - Say I have two developers and they both check out different BOs, they will need 2 separate versions to work in obviously. Are the versions that they use locked to their userID? Or can they be viewed and interacted with by other users?
aware_support wrote3. I don't understand this either. Versions are no longer locked in 8.2.
Again this relates to the 5 developer example above. If I have multiple developers working on multiple minor versions of the "In Development" BSV are there mechanisms to stop Dev 1 interacting (ie changing elements) with Dev 2's minor version?
aware_support wroteSeems like you misunderstand how this feature works...
Probably, that is why I am asking these questions.
4 - How does a developer unit test any changes that they have made if the testing is done from the "In Development" version? Is there not a risk of a developer making a change checking it back in and then introducing something that doesn't function correctly or breaks other elements of the model? Or if I want to be able to do unit testing do I have to export to a new separate BSV?